The Oak Tree

10451781_740413729345343_5993349180399986301_n

When you’re not sure go back to your roots.  As the oak tree stands weathered throughout the years its roots remain preserved.  Roots that as time passes reach deeper and deeper into the soil.  This foundation is what connects it to both its past and its present.  It feeds it.  It nurtures it.  It’s the same with us.   When you’re not sure?  When you’re in doubt?  Let go.  Let your roots support you.  They won’t fail you because you’re connected to the people in both your past and in your present.  Some may have passed on, yes.  But they’re still there providing support.  Remember the oak tree?  The original roots are deep in the ground.  Your roots are within you providing you with support as life’s winds blow.  You’re connected and you’re never alone.  If you look hard enough within yourself  you may just find something extraordinary . . . something extraordinary and as strong as an old oak.

This is of photograph of my grandparents farm.  We no longer own the house and the barns, but they still remain apart of me . . . as does the land they stand on.

 

17 Comments Add yours

  1. Nena says:

    Beautiful message! The picture is stunning as well:) We should never forget our true selves, our roots:)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jodine says:

    For some reason I’m reminded of the song ‘Tie a Yellow Ribbon Round the Old Oak Tree’. 😎

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t believe that I have heard that one.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Jodine says:

        YouTube it…it will make you smile 😆

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I have a wall of photographs on the stairs which we refer to as “The Great Wall of Scotts” It’s actually pictures of family members from both sides,living ,and some who have gone on before.As we run up and down the stairs,doing the mundane things of life,I think about how my smaller family came to be who they are,because of this “great cloud of witnesses.”It is,as you say,grounding.
    Oh and now I have an ear worm thanks to Jodine!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. dray0308 says:

    Reblogged this on Dream Big, Dream Often and commented:
    This is JeremyBigelow!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. yellowwolf80 says:

    Lovely msg and a great reminder to do! Thank you

    Liked by 1 person

  6. What a beautiful message! I needed this today, especially about those who have gone on because I have lost several people in the last few years but one was near and dear and I’m always thinking of him as I watch my children grow, I ask myself, “What would he say right now?” It is very grounding and very helpful in times of stress so thank you for the message!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. This is another deep message to meditate on. When I think about the basics of Christ’s message, I can allow those truths to uphold me daily.

    Like

  8. Little Voice says:

    A great analogy and a great photo.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. What awonderful picture! Stunnung and great advice 🙂 Im sorry about unfollowing and following several times. My phone was having a glitch! I loook forward to reading more 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Stalker. Haha. I am just kidding. 😛 Your following and unfollowing didn’t show up on this end, so you’re good. Thanks for all of your kind words.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ha! You caught me 🙂

        Like

      2. Well, thank you 🙂 No, there’s no chat button or private message feature. You liked my blog:) thank you 🙂

        Like

  10. This is very beautiful

    Like

Leave a Reply

